Were the Eye Not Sunlike

Curated by Third Object

April 3 - May 3

Opening Reception: Friday, April 3    6PM-9PM



Lauren Edwards                 Assaf Evron                 Danny Floyd                 Danny Giles              Mia Nolting


Inspired by the long dark winters of Chicago, this exhibition focuses on the Sun at a time when it is missed the most, moments before springtime. As a object that is both illuminating and unseeable, the experience of the Sun is dominated by metaphor and myth. Were the Eye Not Sunlike channels the mythologization of the Sun and our relationship to its immeasurable power.

Banner image:   Collin Bradford, still from Eclipsing the Sun. Courtesy of the artist.


Exhibition Texts

In the Theater of the Sun     Third Object
Looking at Nothing              Danny Floyd



Sunrise: April 1 - April 19

High Noon: April 19 - May 10

Sunset: May 10 - May 31


Beginning on April 1, a three-part video program will unfold on the artist-made livestreaming platform ACRE TV. The program begins with Sunrise and its thematic associations of stillness, repetition, ritual, crispness and intimacy. Reflecting the course of the earth-bound day, the following program, High Noon, tracks the warmth and optical energy of a bright, full sky. Sunset, the final chapter, evokes impending darkness, melancholy, loss and reflection. The ACRE TV program includes work by sixty-two artists from around the world and will run for two months. 

Blair Bogin, still from   Galileo and Selfies  , 2014. Courtesy of the artist.

Blair Bogin, still from Galileo and Selfies, 2014. Courtesy of the artist.

Participating Artists:
Christopher Bailey & Charles Woodman, Tony Balko, Tommy Becker, Sarah & Joseph Belknap, Blair Bogin, Patrick Andrew Boivin & Stèphane Charpentier & Alyssa Moxley, Laura Bouza, Collin Bradford, Dana Carter, Kate Casanova, Karen Y. Chan, Sarawut Chutiwongpeti, Sara Condo, Silvana D’Mikos, Thomas Dexter, Alexei Dmitriev, Mike Gibisser, Max Grey, Ilan Gutin, Amy Hicks, Sam Hoolihan, Stephanie Hough, Cassandra C. Jones, Jeremiah Jones, Jason Judd, Meredith Lackey, Robert Ladislas Derr, Christine Lucy Latimer, Karl Lind, Chris Little, Ying Liu, Laura Mackin, Elina Malkin & Jónó Mí Ló, Pablo Marín, Eden Mitsenmacher, Rebecca Najdowski, Matthew-Robin Nye & Marc Wieser, Aaron Oldenburg, Jae Pas, Andrew Payne, Chris Rice, Jean-Michel Rolland, Andrew Rosinski, Ben Russell, Eeva Siivonen, Fern Silva, Rachael Starbuck, Eric Stewart, Takahiro Suzuki, John Szczepaniak, Patrick Tarrant, Robert Todd, Penelope Umbrico, Eileen Rae Walsh, Eric Watts